Past Award Recipients

LMHRC Award Recipients


The League of Minnesota Human Rights Commissions presents a Minnesota Human Rights Award to a Minnesota individual or organization for outstanding effort to protect or enhance Human Rights in the state. Here are past winners of the award:

1982. The St. Paul and Minneapolis Jaycees for their efforts to enroll women as full and equal members.


1983. Earl Craig, Jr. for pursuing human rights as a matter of economics.


The Minnesota Civil Liberties Union for pursuing human rights as a matter of law.


1984 The St. Cloud Area Council for the Handicapped for exemplary service to their community which has had some national impact as well.


1985. Danny Berenberg for opening doorways to satisfy both physical and spiritual needs.


1986. Harry Davis, Jr. for a long and distinguished commitment to Human Rights education.


The Eclectic Company for a fresh and promising commitment to Human Rights in education.


1987. Arthur Cunningham for a quarter century of efforts to enhance the rights of all Minnesotans.


1988. Geri Evans for her lifelong commitment to Multi-Cultural Gender Fair Education.


1989. Women for Social Justice, St. Cloud, Minnesota, for action on local, state and national levels to change policies attitudes and institutions that oppress the powerless.


1990. Paul Sand, Maplewood, for years of tireless efforts in teaching Human Rights, especially to young people.


Recognition of: “Human Rights Leadership in the Nineties…A Bridge to the Future” future work of youth in Human Rights.


1991. Matthew Little, President Greater Minneapolis NAACP, Board Member Minneapolis Boys and Girls Clubs, Columnist Minneapolis Spokesman, Coleader Stop the Violence Committee, for his life long work on equity issues.


Don McCoy, Crystal, for his involvement with American Indian Movement Patrol.


Walter Gray, New Hope, for his leadership on the Golden Valley Black History Committee the first of its kind in the country.


Mort Ryweck, Minneapolis, for his work in establishing the “World of Difference” educational project.


1992. Hedy LeMar Walls, Bloomington, for her efforts and achievements in teaching multicultural and anti-prejudice lessons.


1993. Tom Kuster, New Ulm, for his pioneer work with the League and Minnesota Human Rights and his active role in promoting Human Rights in Minnesota.


1994. Recognition for their financial support of LMHRC projects:

St. Paul Foundation

Bigelow Foundation

McKnight Foundation

Otto Bremer Foundation

General Mills Foundation


1995. It’s Time Minnesota for their work with the Legislature to include Sexual Orientation in the Minnesota Human Rights Law.


Robert Peters


Special recognition:

United Nations Association of USA, Mary Lou Nelson, Past President United Nations of Minnesota, current member National Council of United Nations Association-USA, for producing video Harold Stassen:Building A Bridge of Ideas.


David Richards, Advertising Art Director, for producing 1995-96 LMHRC posters.


1996. Marion Helland, Golden Valley, for initiative, demonstrated vision, leadership and untiring support and contributions.


Jane McPartland, St. Cloud, for steadfast service to the League and a livelong commitment to promoting human rights.


1997. Mary Sam, Armstrong H.S., Plymouth, for her work in producing the video Daring to be Different: A Vision of Diversity and her distinguished service to students and community in the advancement of Human Rights.


1998 Jackie Fraedrich, Robbinsdale Area Schools, in appreciation of her distinguished service to students and community in the advancement of human rights and in recognition of her conscientious and vigorous efforts to improve inter group understanding and unity.


1999. Shoreview Human Rights Commission for publication of Children Who Care: Educating Your Child about Human Rights written for parents and teachers to help educate about values relating to diversity and human rights.


2000. Recognition of Human Rights Commissions for Human Rights achievements:

Red Wing

Olmsted County


Crow Wing County

Golden Valley


2001. Ron Linde, Northfield, who has devoted conscientious and vigorous efforts in the advancement of human rights and furtherance of unity in our community.


Crystal Human Rights Commission for continuing efforts to improve intergroup understanding and unity with immigrant populations.


Red Wing Human Rights Commission for creative, energetic and comprehensive approach to community organization.


2002. Peter W. Connor, Owatonna, for his leadership in establishing the Cultural Diversity Network and the Owatonna Human Rights Commission.


Rev. Anthony I. Stubeda, New Ulm, for a career-long effort to increase understanding of and facilitate communication about and among the growing Latino community in the New Ulm area and throughout Minnesota.


Joe Voss, for his work in organizing the Festival of Ethnic Traditions in Paynesville where he was mayor.


Mort Ryweck, Minneapolis, for his lifelong conscientious and vigorous efforts to improve intergroup understanding and unity.


2003. No award given


2004. No award given


2005 Frank Sloan, Bloomington, As a specialist on U.S. immigration law and problems, he is “Mr. Outreach” to many of the recent immigrant groups settling in Minnesota during the past decade.


Shoreview Human Rights Commission Along side Mounds View High School students held the 1st Shoreview Cultural Expo.


Mille Lacs Area Human Rights Commission The first regional human rights commission to include an American Indian Reservation.